The technical management of the CYTED Programme is organized through specialized committees in the thematic areas defined as priorities by the General Assembly. Each Area Committee consists of four members and an Area Manager. The members are appointed by the General Secretariat together with the ONCYT, looking to maintain a balance between different professional profiles and countries.
The Area Committees role is to establish the scientific-technological guidelines of the calls, collaborate in the evaluation of the proposals, monitor current actions, as well as the promotion of the CYTED Programme and its activities.


There are eight thematic areas for the activities of the CYTED Programme. These are priority areas for the Ibero-American region, established by the General Assembly, in which the scientific-technological and innovation efforts are focused. Each of them has a specialized manager who leads a committee in charge of analysing the regional needs in the area and designing a proposal for action based on those needs.